it’s the little things…

leaf # 3638

leaf # 3638

It’s almost 40 degrees (F) and most of the pretty white stuff is going fast.  It’s a barren landscape out there and you really have look hard to find something worthwhile to photograph (if you’re a landscape photographer).  But really, there are compositions in nature that are overlooked photo-ops.  These are the little pictures, not the sweeping panoramas that we long to shoot.  I think a lot of people identify with these little things just as much as the majestic landscapes, and for good reason:  the appreciation of the small things in life can be very rewarding.  Or am I wrong???

13 thoughts on “it’s the little things…

  1. Paul

    I think that you are absolutely right, Ken! This is a great example of that. Often there are really cool compositions to be had at our feet.

    Reply
    1. oneowner Post author

      Thanks, Paul. I wanted to get a wider angle lens than what I have now for landscapes but I really don’t know if I would get much use out of it.

      Reply
  2. LensScaper

    You are absolutely right Ken. There is always something interesting and worth capturing if you zone in on the small and the detail that is all around us. As the saying goes: ‘Small is beautiful’ – it’s certainly true of the natural world all around us. Great image too.

    Reply
  3. Steve Schwartzman

    You’re not wrong, as far as I’m concerned. Most of us don’t live in particularly scenic places like Yellowstone or Yosemite, so it’s important to focus on the smaller wonders around us.

    Reply
  4. ehpem

    I agree with you too Ken. I think we all spend a great deal of time looking at our feet – watching where we put them, avoiding trips and slips. It is very satisfying to find the beauty in this well known and comfortable part of the world, something you do very well, and often.

    Reply
    1. oneowner Post author

      Thanks, ehpem. I do tend to take a lot of photos of stuff on the ground so I look for those opportunities and try not to disturb them. It’s all around us, really.

      Reply
      1. ehpem

        I agree. I don’t turn my lens to the ground enough – I often like the results when I do, so should keep that in mind, especially on the days with otherwise rather boring lighting.

Leave a Reply

