92

# 62

# 62

One of my winter projects was to convert some old slides and negatives to digital.  Winter is over but I’m far from done.  I soon realized that it was an impossible task to digitize everything so I decided to work on the material I liked best.  In the selection process I asked myself if I would shoot that image today, since I know my tastes have changed quite a bit since some of these old shot were taken.  There is obviously a lot of stuff that is not scan-worthy but this image is one of my favorites.  A print of this has been hanging in our house for more than 20 years and I still like it.  It was taken in downtown Rochester and was a sign over an old movie theater that had shown it’s last movie years earlier.  It’s long gone now but I still have this slide.

17 thoughts on “92

  1. Charles Ford

    Wonderful! Ken did you digitize this with your Wolverine?

    Umm…that could sound odd to the outside observer. 🙂 Ken, did you digitize that with your Wolverine brand slide converter? I bought one a week or so ago and it is still sitting here waiting for some free time from me.

    I really like this image.

    Reply
    1. oneowner Post author

      Thanks, Charles. Yes, I used the Wolverine to convert this Kodachrome slide. When you start using yours you will be amazed at how easy it is to use and the results are very nice. I had made adjustments based on the Kodachromes (exposure = minus on click, red = minus one click, green = 0 and blue = plus 1 click) and used these settings for all other slides. I had to make some minor corrections for color balance later but it made the process go very fast. I suggest that you write down the adjustments that work for you with a particular film type and to try to scan one type of film at a time to streamline the process. It goes very fast, especially with an SD card in the slot. I think you’ll like it.

      Reply
    1. oneowner Post author

      Thanks, Milinda. The 11×14 inch print I made of this slide was made on Cibachrome material and it has held up extremely well with no fading at all.

      Reply
    1. oneowner Post author

      Thanks, Pierre. This was a sign on an old movie theater that had been out of business for a while. The theater, located in a not very nice part of town, reverted to an “X rated” movie theater (this was before video) but business was not very good in spite of the great sign.

      Reply
  2. LensScaper

    I can see why you like this. It’s the layers that intrigue us. Powerful colours too. I wonder if the Wolverine has found its way across the Pond

    Reply
    1. oneowner Post author

      Thanks, Andy. I purchased this through Amazon.com. I think you might be able to get one through them if you needed one. I know the price has gone up about 15% since I got this one but even at the higher price it is certainly worth it.

      Reply
  3. ehpem

    Wonderful picture Ken. The layers are fantastic. And it so begs the question, and a bunch of study, to try and figure out what it might have said, on the different layers. No luck though, it is obscured for ever.

    Reply
    1. oneowner Post author

      Thanks, ehpem. I know I have a slide somewhere that has the broader picture of the sign. It might have some clues as to the origin but I’m not in a hurry to find it.

      Reply
  4. Michele

    I opened this post up on my phone while I was away, and had just woken up in a hotel room in whatever city I was in, still mostly asleep. You know I’m not very bright first thing in the morning, and was momentarily confused thinking I was home in the bedroom hallway. I need caffeine. Intravenously, 24/7. I’m still not sure where I was, but I must be home now because the picture is hanging in the hallway and there’s a cat sleeping on the reports I’m trying to complete. Unless I’m in a cat hotel. Oh dear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

